The Winding Path To The Sea

The Winding Path

The steep, winding path of the Blasket Island Ferry at Dunquin, Ireland

As we drove the route around the Dingle Peninsula we often found ourselves abandoning a former plan in order to pursue some other beautiful sight. Sometimes the views we were chasing were based on what we saw ourselves and at other times we were going on information gathered from a new-found friend. This shot, though, was inspired by a postcard of all things. Although I prefer to find my own compositions I often spend a few minutes in a local drugstore or gift shop perusing the postcards from that area. Sometimes the images on the postcards are stock and not even from the region. But, oftentimes the images are from great local scenes both well-known and obscure.

In this case, I saw an absolutely wonderful image of sheep walking up a steep, winding path with the sea and coastal islands in the background. The image was simply too intriguing to not discover more about it. After doing a bit of research I found that the shot was taken at the Blasket Island Ferry terminal in Dunquin, or An Daingean as it is known locally. I won’t even attempt to show how the location is spelled in the native Irish Gaelic!

After driving around a bit and making a few wrong turns, we finally found the ferry. But, the shot from the “terminal” (a very simple six by six hut with a stove and sliding window) was not what I was looking for. So, I set off on foot toward the water hoping the shot would materialize. I quickly found my location and was amazed by what I saw. The ferry-boat docks in a somewhat sheltered cove about a hundred feet below the top of the cliff. Passengers – and sheep, too, apparently – disembark onto a small platform and wind their way up a narrow path toward the headland where I was standing. Even then, the wind was howling. I simply can’t imagine making that transition on a raw winter day with rain and sleet pelting down in frigid temperatures.

For this shot, I found a perch on the grassy knoll you see in the foreground of this shot. I broke out my 14-24 2.8 lens in order to take in as much of the landscape as possible. By balancing in a fairly precarious position I was able to keep my tripod stable and shoot off a series of frames. The biggest enemy this day was the wind. At times it blew so hard that I thought my whole rig would topple to the ground. Fortunately, that didn’t happen. Unfortunately, the ferry was not running this day so no unloading of sheep would be occurring. I look forward to visiting Ireland again in order to possibly see that sight and to visit the Blasket Islands.

The Dingle Peninsula is a magical place. Hopefully, this series of images conveys some sense of the beauty of this special place. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

