Ennis Doorway

Ennis Doorway

A beautiful, weathered door in Ennis, Ireland

Whenever I travel to a beautiful place whether for work or for pleasure, I like to get up early in the morning and roam the area I’m staying in at sunrise. Oftentimes, there are very few people on the streets and the light can be wonderful. Such was the case while we were staying in Ennis. I got up both mornings very early and just walked the streets seeing what I could see.

As you have probably deduced if you’ve been following this blog for long, I love to take shots of architecture. I don’t know what it is about doors, windows, steeples, building facades, etc. but architecture simply catches my eye. On this beautiful summer morning in western Ireland, I had the town to myself. When I saw this old weathered door on an equally worn, weathered building I simply had to capture it. The ivy, fading and peeling blue paint, and rotting trim all combine to make a beautiful image to my eye. I hope you enjoy it as well.

Leave a Reply

