A Day Game at Fenway

Matt Joyce of the LA Angels plays left field in front of the famous Green Monster

Matt Joyce of the LA Angels plays left field in front of the famous Green Monster

I have a love/hate relationship with baseball. When I was growing up, the Braves made their first appearance in the playoffs in the newly created division championship series. Baseball was still played in the daytime back then. Even playoff games were played in daylight for the most part. Atlanta was electric with its relatively new team having a chance to go to the World Series. Unfortunately, we ran into the buzzsaw that was the 1969 Mets – the Miracle Mets.

Since then, I’ve lived through some absolutely awful Braves teams. And, I’ve had the good fortune to experience thirteen straight playoff appearances and one World Series championship in 1995. Through it all, I’ve maintained a love for the game. And love the Braves as I do, there’s still something magical about day baseball in some even older ballparks – Wrigley Field and Fenway Park in particular.

So, when I realized that Taylor and I would be in Boston for a day game in May of this year, I immediately found some tickets. Fortunately, Taylor understands my obsession and wanted to go as well. What I couldn’t have anticipated was the absolutely perfect day that we would have to experience a day game at Fenway. The food was great, the weather was perfect, the home team won, and I got to take my camera into the park to record the spectacle.

Here are a few of my favorite shots from that day. I hope they bring you a fraction of the enjoyment that I had in capturing them.

A sign on the brickwork of venerable Fenway Park

A sign on the brickwork of venerable Fenway Park

The Red Sox host the Angels on a perfect late spring day at Fenway Park

The Red Sox host the Angels on a perfect late spring day at Fenway Park

Mike Napoli takes a huge swing at historic Fenway Park

Mike Napoli takes a huge swing at historic Fenway Park

The first baseman for the Boston Red Sox stretches for a thrown in a routine out against the Los Angeles Angels

The first baseman for the Boston Red Sox stretches for a thrown in a routine out against the Los Angeles Angels

A statue of Ted Williams and a young boy with cancer outside Boston's Fenway Park

A statue of Ted Williams and a young boy with cancer outside Boston’s Fenway Park

The Red Sox second baseman makes the turn at first base to begin a double play

The Red Sox second baseman makes the turn at first base to begin a double play

Boys look in from center field at Fenway Park dreaming about playing baseball on that perfect surface

Boys look in from center field at Fenway Park dreaming about playing baseball on that perfect surface

Leave a Reply

