Louvre Courtyard Repetition

Louvre Courtyard Repetition

lampposts in the courtyard of the Louvre Museum

Even though we didn’t have time that we wanted to dedicate to exploring the collections of the Louvre, I at least wanted to visit the courtyard and see the iconic pyramid added by I.M. Pei. I visited Paris in the mid-1980s but the pyramid was added over the visitor entry area in 1988. Since I had seen the Mona Lisa and other treasures on a prior visit and my traveling companions were not as interested in visiting museums, a visit to the courtyard would have to suffice.

My intention was to visit the courtyard at night, but I found some other shots with even more potential and relegated this visit to the daytime. Even though the weather conditions were sketchy – rain was imminent and there was significant overcast, I was still able to make some satisfying images.

I like this one because of the repeating elements. I spent quite a bit of time photographing some of the other repeating elements on the facade of the Louvre including the columns of the portico and the statuary on the cornices. Even the windows and doors had a very symmetrical design that was appealing. The difficult part of photographing those was shooting above the dense crowds that crammed into every nook and cranny of the courtyard. Being there at night would likely have eliminated most traces of people. Alas, I would not be back this night or for quite a while so I satisfied myself with images above ground level. Hopefully you can enjoy this one in the series.

Leave a Reply

