Sunset Light on Provins, France

Sunset Light on Provins, France

A view of medieval Provins, France as sunset light casts a beautiful glow on the town

Because Provins was so small I could walk from one end of the town to the other in about ten minutes. That made it incredibly easy to scramble up to the top of the walls at the west end of town in order to gain a better vantage point. On the last night in Provins, I had hoped for a beautiful cloud filled sky. What I got was almost as good for the shot that I ended up taking.

Our first five days in France were for the most part blue sky days. There may have been a few clouds that passed by, but for the most part, the sky was clear and the winds were calm. Normally those aren’t the best conditions for photography. But, for this shot, I wanted to get the warm rays of a setting sun casting a warm glow on the beautiful, medieval town of Provins where we were staying.

I got my wish and managed to find a spot that also displayed the half-timbered buildings of the town as a foreground to the Catholic church and Roman fort in the distance. It was a fun way to spend an hour or so waiting for the sun to set. I hope you enjoy the image as much as I enjoyed capturing it.

Leave a Reply

