Afternoon Light at Fontainebleau

Afternoon Light at Fontainebleau

The passage between two of the buildings at Fontainebleau lit beautifully by late afternoon sunlight

While working with our partner in France we spent one afternoon visiting the incredible palace at Fontainebleau. I’m not sure I recall all of the history associated with the place but it was one of many royal residences scattered throughout France. Actually, I seem to recall that this was a ‘hunting lodge’. If so, it’s the nicest place I’ve ever seen to hang a set of deer antlers!

This image was taken in the back of the palace in a passageway leading between two sets of buildings in the complex. I was drawn to the clean, linear lines of the shrubs, path, and building facade. Those manmade lines juxtaposed against the abstract form of the sunlit tree really caught my eye. I hope you enjoy the composition as well. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

