Walking Bragg Hill Road

Walking Bragg Hill Road

A woman walks her dog at the peak of fall color along beautiful Bragg Hill Road in Waitsfield, Vermont

Well, it’s been a long time since my last post. I’m trying to get back in the groove. I’ve got images from China, California, Georgia, and France to post so I don’t know how I’m going to catch up. But, I’ll give it a shot and get as may images and stories posted as possible over the next few months.

This will probably be my last image from last fall’s trip to New York and Vermont. I have to post it, though. It’s one of my favorites from the trip. And, as it so often happens, the shot was totally unplanned.

One of the most beautiful spots on my sojourn through New England last fall was Bragg Hill Road in picturesque Waitsfield, Vermont. I was driving slowly through the farms on Bragg Hill Road near sunrise just looking for ways to highlight the beautiful fall color in the region. I had stopped by the side of the road to photography a barn when a lady walked by with her dog. She was just taking the animal for his morning stroll but I quickly realized that her and the dog could be an interesting focal point for a larger picture of Bragg Hill Road.

I waited patiently for her to walk to the bottom of the hill and begin the ascent to the next hill. I snapped several images, but this one seemed to capture the beauty of the moment the best. I considered taking all of the telephone poles and lines out of the shot, but they too seem to convey some of the rural nature of the area. In the end I liked the way the woman and her dog are almost lost in the scene. The image conveys the solitude that one can still attain in the fall in New England surrounded by incredibly beauty. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

