Sunrise at Jenne Farm

Sunrise at Jenne Farm

Often photographed but still beautiful Jenne Farm in scenic Reading, Vermont

As I mentioned in my last post, I decided to mix in some of the classic Vermont landscape locations on my fall trip. Perhaps *the* most iconic subject in Vermont is Jenne Farm. I’ve photographed it before, but I wanted to capture a current image with a high-resolution digital camera. So, I woke up two hours before sunrise hoping that the weather conditions would give me a bit of sunlight at dawn.

I’ve shot at Jenne Farm at least two times before. On both prior occasions the light was dismal and the colors around the farm were either before or after their peak color. This day dawned mostly clear and there was good, if not great, color on the trees. I really couldn’t have asked for better conditions.

One thing hadn’t changed from previous visits. There were at least a dozen other photographers lined up waiting for the first rays of sunlight to fall on Jenne Farm below. Photographers from all over the country make their pilgrimage to this spot each fall to capture this Vermont landscape icon.

Once the sun rose over the horizon and light spilled onto the scene, each photographer composed and captured furiously. At least those of us who had been there before did. Unfortunately, as beautiful as the scene is at sunrise, the light can quickly become harsh and contain too much contrast making beautiful images almost impossible to capture. That was the case this morning. By thirty minutes after sunrise the light had become much too direct and it was time to pack up and move on.

Even though it’s been shot thousands of times before, I still love the location. I hope you enjoy it too.

Leave a Reply

