The Blue Ridge from Clingmans Dome

Blue Ridge from Clingmans Dome 1

The ridges and valleys of the mountains of western North Carolina and eastern Tennessee as viewed from Clingmans Dome at sunset

Blue Ridge from Clingmans Dome 2

The ridges and valleys of the mountains of western North Carolina and eastern Tennessee as viewed from Clingmans Dome at sunset

I’ve visited Clingmans Dome and posted images from there many times. So, for some of you this post might look familiar. But, I’m constantly drawn back to here because of the incredible variety of light and conditions that occurs here. I’ve shot these ridges many, many times. But, each time I view the images on my camera’s LCD screen or on my computer, I still find them beautiful and compelling.

So, there’s little story here. The sun was setting into a relatively cloud-free sky. In fact, the actual sunset was so far to the north that the mountain actually obscured the sunset itself. But, the golden light of the late afternoon and dusk sky silhouetted the ridges of the mountains beautifully. The contrast of the blue-black mountains and valleys with the pinks and oranges of the sky were as beautiful in person as they are in these images. I hope I’ve conveyed something of the majesty of the sunset from Clingmans Dome. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

