Faith

Faith

A simple, but beautiful, grave marker in Magnolia Cemetery, Charleston, South Carolina

Faith - Landscape

Another view of a simple, but beautiful, grave marker in Magnolia Cemetery, Charleston, South Carolina

Here are a couple of images I took on my trip to Charleston this past spring. Some of my favorite images of Charleston in the past have been taken in her historic cemeteries. Therefore, I decided to check out some of the other cemeteries in Charleston other than those associated with the churches in the historic district. That research led me to Magnolia Cemetery.

I wandered around Magnolia Cemetery for a few happy hours looking for shots of funeral statuary, live oaks, spring blooms, and other interesting sights. Although I found quite a few interesting images, this grave marker stood out as unique. Many messages in cemeteries have wise sayings, quotes from Scripture, or accomplishments of the deceased. This grave marker was unique to me because of the way it conveyed the message of Jesus Christ. Faith seems to point to the individual’s faith in eternal life as a result of belief in the power of Christ’s death on the cross and his resurrection. This simple image conveys a powerful concept central to the Christian faith.

I’ve posted both images because I like them both and can’t decide which one represents the scene best. The portrait orientation isolates the cross and makes it the clear center of the image. The landscape orientation image gives some context with the live oak and camellia in the background. I hope you enjoy one or the other as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

