Eagle Cliff Falls

Eagle Cliff Falls

Eagle Cliff Falls in Havana Glen near Montour Falls, New York

As I did my research for a trip to the Finger Lakes district of upstate New York, I began to see some areas mentioned over and over again. One of those was Havana Glen. Since I had no reference point for some of these locations, I had to wander around a bit blindly to find them. And, once I had found the location, I had no idea how easy or difficult the area would be to hike.

Such was the case with Havana Glen and Eagle Cliff Falls. As it turned out, the location was in a small county park not very far from Watkins Glen State Park. To my surprise, the collection booth was actually manned. There couldn’t have been much profit to the county the day I visited. The entry fee was two dollars and I saw only two other vehicles in the parking lot during my hour or so visit to the park.

Fortunately, the trail to the falls was well-marked and there was actually steps and handrails in some of the steeper sections of the short trail. In general the trails to waterfalls in New York were much easier to navigate than the ones I find in the Southeast. I don’t know the reason for that but I certainly was happy to experience it!

I shot the falls from lots of different angles, but this image turned out to be my favorite. I like the cascade as a forefront to the falls in the background. There was a bit of fall color developing as well. It’s not my favorite image of the trip, but it’s still a beautiful one. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

