Dixie Speedway Badges

Dixie Speedway Emblems 2

Details of sponsor badges from race cars at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, GA

Part of my work responsibility is to oversee our organization’s construction projects. On one of our current projects the job foreman is a really cool guy named Steve who races cars at a local dirt track. As Steve described his racing hobby I realized that I hadn’t been to a dirt track since I was a little kid. My uncles grew up in north Georgia and would occasionally take me to dirt track races on Saturday night. I found myself fondly remembering those days and wanted to visit Dixie Speedway on a night when Steve was racing.

A few weeks later I took my camera and a few lenses and headed to the track. My son, Matt, and our friend, Tom, joined me for the evening. We bought infield passes in order to be able to hang out with Steve and to get a bit closer to the action.

I took these images before Steve got on the track as we wandered around the pits. The colors, dirt, and rub marks on the quarter panels of the cars jumped out at me. I had a blast looking at all of the cars as the drivers and crews prepared them to race. I’ll post some images from the race itself next. Enjoy.

Dixie Speedway Emblems 1

Details of sponsor badges from race cars at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, GA

Dixie Speedway Emblems 3

Details of sponsor badges from race cars at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, GA

Leave a Reply

