Colosseum Panorama

Colosseum Panorama

A panorama of the interior of the Roman Colosseum

Okay, so this isn’t the most original image in the world. You’ve probably seen dozens of images of the Roman Colosseum. I have too. But, I had never taken one of my own. In fact, I had never visited Rome before. So, despite the fact that we only had a few hours in the Eternal City, we still wanted to see the classics.

We started with the Colosseum. After taking a train in from the port of Civitavecchia, we immediately headed for the underground and took the train to the Colosseo station. We had arrived in early May and relatively early that morning so the lines weren’t too long. Still, it would have taken an hour or so to get in, but an enterprising member of our group went to the head of the line and found a quicker way in.

Once inside we did the self-guided tour for an hour or so. I noticed that there was a great vantage point from the second level and headed up there toward the end of our tour. That’s when I took this shot. I handheld my camera and used the nifty horizon feature built into the D800. By keeping my camera on the same relative level plans, shooting portrait, and taking seven or eight images, I was able to stitch this shot together. For not using a tripod, I’m pretty pleased with the results. I hope you enjoy it too. Ciao.

 

Leave a Reply

