Scenes from a Barcelona courtyard

Barcelona Courtyard 2

The courtyard of a Barcelona public building located in the Gothic quarter

One of my favorite activities while in Barcelona was to simply wander the streets and alleys soaking in the incredible architecture. The good news is that I saw some incredibly interesting architecture and novelties. The bad news is that I had my camera’s GPS turned off so I can’t tell you exactly where some of my images were captured. I do know that these images were taken in the courtyard of a public building located in the Gothic quarter.

I was out wandering before dinner one night when I stumbled into this place. It was two hours or so before sunset and their was a high overcast in the sky. The courtyard was constructed of warm limestone. The result was like a giant lighting soft box had been placed over the sun revealing the texture and tone of the stonework. Other people were just wandering in and out of the courtyard. I was frantically trying to capture as many angles as possible while the magnificent light lasted! These are a few of the images from that evening. I think they capture the feel of the light in that space that magical evening. Enjoy.

Barcelona Courtyard 3

The courtyard of a Barcelona public building located in the Gothic quarter

Barcelona Courtyard 1

The courtyard of a Barcelona public building located in the Gothic quarter

Leave a Reply

