Barcelona Street Scene

Barcelona Street Scene

One of the countless interesting alleys found in Barcelona

I don’t really know why, but I found myself trying to capture the feel of the streets and alleys of old town Barcelona. Perhaps it’s because those thoroughfares are narrow, twisting, and infinitely different from the wide lanes of my part of America. I’m sure my wife tired of me stopping at each intersection because I thought this street would perfectly capture the spirit of the place better than one of previous hundred attempts. After awhile, I got the hang of it and found compositions that worked. This is the best of those attempts.

I suppose my fascination with these streets is the unusual juxtaposition of so many unique elements – the ornate balconies, signs in Spanish, Catalan flags, the unique architecture, and laundry hanging from those ornate balconies. The whole vibe is very… well, European. I hope you enjoy this image and many more to come as I work my way through our Mediterranean adventure.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

