American by Birth, Southern by the Grace of God

American by Birth, Southern by the Grace of God

The American flag and the state flag of South Carolina hang gracefully in beautiful Beaufort, South Carolina

Okay, I’m not trying to stir anything up. I’m sure that others feel equally proud of their country or their region of their country. It’s just that I feel especially fortunate to have been born and to live in the American South. It has to do with values, climate, history, and the beauty of the region. So, no flames please. Just know that I am happy to be where I am.

Earlier this spring, my son, Matt, and I went to the coast of Georgia and South Carolina for a few days. I’ve spent a good bit of time on the southeast coast from North Carolina to Florida. Being from Atlanta, I’ve spent most of my time near Savannah on the barrier islands of Georgia and South Carolina. However, I never made it to Beaufort before this trip. Now that I’ve been there, I certainly plan to return! It’s a beautiful small town that has managed to retain much of its colonial charm. Given the damage incurred in the South during the Civil War, undisturbed antebellum towns are relatively rare.

We passed through Beaufort a couple of times on our trip and stopped both times in order to capture a sense of the place. Azaleas and other spring flowers were in full bloom making the town especially pretty. We spent many hours walking up and down the streets of the old section of town just enjoying the architecture. During our wandering this scene caught my eye. Old Glory and the South Carolina state flag hanging from a postcard perfect porch framed by Spanish moss and flowering azaleas is about as southern as it gets.

If you find yourself at Hilton Head, driving up I-95, or in Savannah, you really should pay a visit to Beaufort. You won’t be disappointed. Enjoy.

 

6 comments

  1. I have had the good fortune of getting to visit the state of South Carolina on more than one occasion. I must admit what they say about Southern Hospitality is definitely true, very kind and welcoming people in that state. I also noticed that people are very proud of their state, with decals and bumper stickers of the state flag and symbols found on may cars. The state is also a very beautiful place, I really enjoyed my stay in downtown Greenville.

    1. If you visit there again you really should try to visit Charleston and the lowcountry. The photographic opportunities are endless and the landscape is truly beautiful.

  2. HELLO! I have been looking everywhere for a picture of the US and SC flags to use on our website and came across this one. THIS IS SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!! Please do not think this is forward of me, but I was wondering if I could request permission to use it on our website? I understand if you do not want to release it- it is absolutely gorgeous- but I thought that it couldn’t hurt to ask!
    THANK YOU!

    1. Thanks for your interest in my work. I do have quite a bit invested in my images. I’d be glad to license the shot for your use on your web site. If you would provide me with some details, I’ll be glad to provide you with a quote. Please contact me directly at rick@rickholliday.com

      Rick

Leave a Reply

