Informal Inukshuk

Informal Inukshuk

A inukshuk constructed of naturally occurring rocks on the English Bay beach of Vancouver

Continuing in a theme of sorts, here are two images from Vancouver’s English Bay. One is in color. One is in black and white. As we were walking along the path that parallels English Bay, I kept scanning the beach below the seawall. At times, there was a clean, sandy beach and at other points the beach was strewn with debris. Near Stanley Park was one of those debris filled stretches. As I looked down, it was obvious that someone had taken rocks and created a series of small inukshuks with them. I couldn’t resist climbing down the seawall and investigating.

I took a series of images varying focal length and composition. In the end, I liked this image the best. The background is blurred but you can still make out the other small rock cairns and the seawall.

Informal Inukshuk - B+W

A inukshuk constructed of naturally occurring rocks on the English Bay beach of Vancouver

The structure of the rocks and the strong lines in them seemed to lend themselves to a black and white image as well. While I love the colors in the first image, I think I prefer the black and white. The black and white image focuses my attention on the inukshuk itself and makes my eye ponder the details of the rocks used to construct it. At the same time, I don’t lose context for the image. I can still make out the images in the background without them becoming distracting.

In either case, the image is fun. Someone obviously enjoyed themselves creating these mini works of art. I hope you enjoy viewing them.

Leave a Reply

