Tulips in Stanley Park

White Tulips and Forget Me Nots

White tulips and Forget-me-nots found in Vancouver’s Stanley Park

As I’ve mentioned earlier, one of the memorable aspects of our trip to British Columbia was that so many different plants were at their peak of color at the same time. One are where this was especially noticeable was Stanley Park. The park occupies about a third of the peninsula that most people think of as Vancouver. Truth be told, the city spreads out considerably from the peninsula. In any case, Stanley Park is a beautiful example of an urban park. It is crisscrossed with hiking and biking trails. It is surrounded on three sides by water and offers amazing views from many different vantage points. It has tennis courts, a small golf facility, restaurants, an aquarium, gardens, and many other attractions.

The gardens will stand out in my memory over time. As I’ve mentioned previously, the length of the bloom season and the overlap of so many varieties in bloom creates a staggeringly beautiful mosaic of color. These tulips and forget-me-nots are an example of the color scheme that can be found by casually strolling through the park. I spent quite a while making compositions with the beautiful contrast of corn-blue and white flower petals. I couldn’t decide which composition I liked best, so I decided to post both. I love both images for different reasons.

Tulip Detail and Forget-me-nots

The detail of a single white tulip surrounded by forget-me-nots

Which do you prefer? Thanks for taking a look. Enjoy a bit of the spring beauty of Vancouver’s Stanley Park.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

