My Annual Pilgrimage to the Atlanta Botanical Garden

As I’ve probably written before, one of my favorite places in Atlanta is the Atlanta Botanical Garden. It’s a wonderful set of gardens that rarely attracts the attention that it deserves. I’ve visited quite a few botanical gardens over the years and only a handful are at the level of Atlanta’s. Very few exceed it. Each year after the long winter, I get the itch to shoot color again. One of my first destinations is the Botanical Garden. The seasonal plantings and the orchid house guarantee a splash of color even as the native flora is awaiting spring. Although spring came early in Atlanta this year, I still made the pilgrimage to the Garden. I hope you enjoy the flowers as much as I did.

I’m posting many more photos than my normal one image per post today. Don’t think that I’m lazy. I just don’t have nine different stories for these images.

I know the common flowers. I’m just not certain of all of the other flowers that I encounter at the Garden. These first two are poppies, one in bloom and one waiting to bloom.

To be honest, I don’t know the name of this flower, but it certainly is beautiful.

Orchids I do know. The Fuqua Orchid house has an incredible collection of orchids native to many different parts of the world.

Another one that I don’t know the name of but I certainly admire its beauty.

This state of a little boy catching frogs has adorned the gardens for year. I love the look of sheer joy on his face and the thoughts evoked by living a simple country life.

I know roses as well. I especially love the peach shade of these delicate, perfectly formed flowers.

I believe this is a poppy as well. I love the delicate feel of the overlapping petals, the soft transition from rose-colored to white, and the intricate structure of the pistils and stamens.

Once again, I’m not sure of the flower name, but the large stands of them made for some interesting foreground in focus, background out of focus compositions.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

