The Governor Stone at Dawn

The Governor Stone at Dawn

Our family spent Spring Break on St. George Island, Florida. St. George Island is a laid back beach community on a barrier island just across the bay from Apalachicola. I took my camera gear hoping to find some interesting subjects to photograph.

As it turned out, Apalachicola was just the place. It is a historic fishing town that was settled by Europeans in the early 1800s. It’s a small town but has many intriguing subjects including old homes, small harbors, a charming shopping area, and the waterfront. This picture was taken from a small front directly on the waterfront at dawn.

I love the intensity of the colors in the calm waters of the harbor. The scene was even more vibrant in person. Of course, I had my other senses aiding me as I listened to birds greeting the rising sun with song, smelled the salt water, and felt the rising breeze on my skin. This image brings back that memory along with all of those senses. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

